Storm Water Information for Co-Permittees and Municipalities

In March 2003, SD1 applied for a Kentucky Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (KPDES) Storm Water Phase II Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (SMS4) General Permit on behalf of the Northern Kentucky region. The region to be covered by the permit was established by the Kentucky Division of Water (KDOW) in order to comply with the federally-mandated Phase II Storm Water Requirements. Local municipalities subject to the Phase II regulations or co-permittees to this permit include 29 Northern Kentucky cities (listed below) and portions of unincorporated Boone, Campbell and Kenton counties. 

KDOW approved the permit application and issued Permit No. KYG200007 to SD1 and the co-permittees. The permit was effective on January 1, 2003. Compliance with the permit requires all parties to address and achieve measurable goals for six minimum control measures defined in the permit. Those six minimum control measures are:
  1. Public Education and Outreach
  2. Public Involvement/Participation
  3. Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  4. Construction Site Storm Water Runoff Control
  5. Post-Construction Storm Water Management in New Development and Redevelopment
  6. Pollution Prevention/Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations
In order to establish the roles and responsibilities of SD1 and the co-permittees, an Interlocal Agreement was developed between SD1 and each co-permittee prior to submittal of the KPDES Permit Application. The roles and responsibilities were further defined in SD1’s Storm Water Management Plan that was incorporated into the agreement. The management plan contains itemized task lists for each control measure and delegates appropriate responsibility to SD1, the co-permittee or both. 

KDOW reissued the Phase II Permit to SD1 and the co-permittees in 2010. The reissued permit included new and more stringent requirements for each minimum control measure, including new sediment and erosion control regulations, development of a post-construction water quality treatment standard and more detailed pollution prevention requirements. SD1, with input from community stakeholders and co-permittees, updated the Storm Water Management Plan to address the requirements of the second permit cycle.  In 2011 and 2013, Northern Kentucky’s Regional Storm Water Program was audited by KDOW for compliance with the Phase II regulations and the reissued permit. As a result of the audits, KDOW found Northern Kentucky to be in full compliance with the regulations, and no violations were reported. SD1 continues to implement the second cycle of the Phase II Permit and the Storm Water Management Plan on behalf of Northern Kentucky. The second cycle of the Phase II permit will remain in effect until 2015.

City Co-Permittees:
Alexandria, Bellevue, Bromley, Covington, Crescent Springs, Crestview, Crestview Hills, Dayton, Edgewood, Elsmere, Erlanger, Fort Mitchell, Fort Thomas, Fort Wright, Highland Heights, Independence, Kenton Vale, Lakeside Park, Ludlow, Melbourne, Newport, Park Hills, Silver Grove, Southgate, Taylor Mill, Union, Villa Hills, Wilder, Woodlawn

Storm Water Management Program – Key Documents

As each Phase II Permit is issued, SD1 must compose several reports to show compliance with the permit regulations. Each time the permit is reissued, SD1 must update Northern Kentucky’s Storm Water Management Plan to outline how SD1 and co-permittees will comply with the regulations for the duration of the permit. Additionally, SD1 must prepare and submit an annual report to KDOW to document what activities, regulations and policies SD1 and co-permittees have developed to meet the requirements of the Phase II Permit each year. A copy of each of these reports may be found below:

Co-Permittee Handbook

SD1 has developed the Co-Permittee Handbook as a resource and guide to Northern Kentucky’s Regional Storm Water Program for all co-permittees. The handbook contains a copy of the most recent Phase II Permit, the associated Storm Water Management Plan and quick reference compliance tables that outline how Northern Kentucky will comply with the Phase II regulations and who are the associated responsible parties. For a copy of the Co-Permittee Handbook, contact Lora Bonno at

Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping

SD1 and co-permittees share the responsibilities of pollution prevention and good housekeeping in Northern Kentucky. To aid co-permittees in meeting the pollution prevention requirements of the Phase II Permit, SD1 has developed several tools as outlined below:
  • Co-Permittee Pollution Prevention Toolkit
    SD1 developed the Co-Permittee Pollution Prevention Toolkit to aid co-permittees in meeting the Phase II pollution prevention requirements. Toolkits were distributed to all co-permittees in late 2010 and contain resources such as the Household Hazardous Waste Resource Guide, BMP “Tip of the Month” posters and sign-out sheets to utilize a pollution prevention training video. To request another toolkit for your municipality, contact Darren Martin at
  • Co-Permittee Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plan Template
    The Phase II Storm Water Permit requires SD1 and all co-permittees to develop operation and maintenance plans for municipal facilities and municipal operations. To meet this requirement, SD1 has developed a Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) template. The SWPPP template can be tailored to address all municipal facilities and operations, such as storing materials outdoors or street sweeping. Download a copy of the SWPPP template here

Historical Information

Click on the links below to view each key document and/or report:

Weather Water Quality Data Ohio River Employment Opportunities Legal Disclaimers Links Site Map
Copyright © 2010, Sanitation District No. 1 of Northern Kentucky | 1045 Eaton Drive, Fort Wright, Kentucky 41017 | 859-578-7450 | Map